Editor’s Note: This post originally ran in 2004 and has been updated. You can read the previous post here.
Coming upon the South Bushwick Reformed Church is like being transported to a New England town, with the white Ionic columns and the steeple dominating the streetscape.
The Reformed Church dates back to Dutch Brooklyn settlements from 1654. The land was donated in 1851 by two local parishioners, and the original congregation was made up of 20 local farmers and their families.
The current church at 855 Bushwick Avenue was constructed in 1853 and designed by Messrs. Morgan. A chapel and Sunday school were added by J. J. Buck in 1881-1883.
The adjacent street is named after Reverend John Himrod, the first pastor. Today, the church is in dire need of funding to make necessary repairs. Hopefully this unique piece of Brooklyn’s rural history will not be lost.
It was landmarked in 1968, making this church one of Brooklyn’s earliest landmarked buildings.
[Photos by Susan De Vries]
- 19th Century Mansions for the Masses in Bushwick
- A 19th Century Bushwick Home for Brooklyn’s Elderly and Indigent
- The Doctor’s Row of Bushwick, Built by a Beer Baron/