Thursday Links
A ‘Jail’ for Children Stirs a Ruckus in Brooklyn [NY Times] Transit Agency Approves Cuts, and More Bad News Looms [NY Times] Bank of America to Reduce Mortgage Balances [NY Times] MTA Giving W and V Lines the Axe [NY Post] City bringing event space to Red Hook [NY Post] ‘Late Night” Musician Rents in…

A ‘Jail’ for Children Stirs a Ruckus in Brooklyn [NY Times]
Transit Agency Approves Cuts, and More Bad News Looms [NY Times]
Bank of America to Reduce Mortgage Balances [NY Times]
MTA Giving W and V Lines the Axe [NY Post]
City bringing event space to Red Hook [NY Post]
‘Late Night” Musician Rents in Greenpoint [NY Post]
DYCD Shutting Down 33 After-School Programs [NY Daily News]
Bikers Decry Parking Privileges for Church-Goers [Brooklyn Paper]
Photo by madabandon
Another interesting news item today: Disgraced Brooklyn Politician Denied Parole. Judges in Brooklyn corrupt. Yippie and political activist AJ Weberman puts in two cents on comments section.
http://tinyurl.com/ycorblr
My bicycle’s tires work just as well on plain asphalt as on green paint. Just go around the cars parked in the bike lane. There’s a whole street you can ride on.
Agree with etson, but it’s there now and Phelps does sound like he really doesn’t care. And that’s wrong. If the church is part of the community, as he says, then it has to be part of the solution.
Churches do get special favors- when I lived on Schermerhorn, the church on my block treated it as their personal parking lot and event space. There were plenty of clashes over the years. Most of the congregation was elderly and walking was an issue, so that’s also something the City should have considered when placing the bike lane. And at the same time, once the bike lane went it, no church should have to right to ingore it. I know the city wants to promote cycling, but seems to me this is not the way to go about it.
closing 33 after school programs is a really REALLY stupid thing to do.
*rob*
DIBS – I just like throwing fuel on the fire as with the “JAIL” thread.
BTW, Sunday is ideal day to bike (fewer cars)…ride to Red Hook and bar hop for food (pulled pork sandwiches at Ice House) and booze…then magic carpet ride back home.
No there were complaints before. But they were ignored and hushed up until they appeared on BLOG in public where they could embarrass the NY housing authority. Yay power of the Internet, awesome.
So it took six years for folks to get upset? Ridiculous. When will personal responsibility come back in style? Someone buzz me when that happens please.
Sounds like they should never have put a bike lane there in the first place.
“Who rides a bike on Sunday morning anyway???”
urrmmm, that would be me. We often ride our bikes *to* the bacon, egg, coffee (and bloody mary) establishments. But more times than not we have to train it back home ;-p